Thorpe Thewles History Group

Welcome to our forum. If you have any questions or interesting information related to any aspect of the history of the Parish of Grindon in the Tees Valley (including Thorpe Thewles, Wynyard, Grindon & Fulthorpe) please feel free to post an entry in our Forum.

Forum: Thorpe Thewles History Group
Start a New Topic 

Author
Comment
Help needed in tracing my Jamieson family connection to Grindon Parish

Hello,

I'm a retired Kodak engineer and grandfather in Rochester, New York, USA. For several years I have been researching my family's background. My mother's paternal grandfather was a man named John Joseph Jamieson. He died in 1947. All we knew about his background was that he was born in England on Sept. 26, 1866 and emigrated to the US about 1886.

I recently sent for, and received, a copy of his death certificate from 1947. It states that his father's name was David Jamieson and his mother's name was Ellen Smithwade Jamieson. I then went searching on Ancestry.com for John Joseph
Jamieson's born in 1866 with father David and mother Ellen Smithwade Jamieson. I was not able to get an EXACT match, but the person I got in the 1871 England census in Grindon Thorpe is very close! The only discrepancy is that Grindon Thorpe JJJ's mother's name is Margaret, not Ellen. His father, David, was a coal merchant. In the US, my JJJ worked as a coal miner. We also have many "David's" in our family.

The fact I very much want to know is Grindon Thorpe JJJ's exact date of birth. If it is September 26, 1866, then I'll be satisfied that I've found my great grandfather.

I have also obtained a census from London for 1881. That John Joseph Jamieson may also be the same person. Looks to me as though he was expelled from a private school. That sounds like my great grandfather! Also, he was born in Stockton on Tees.

Please advise me as to what I need to do to obtain the birthdate of Grindon Thorpe John Joseph Jamieson.