SPEEDDOGS

PLEASE USE YOUR FULL NAME OR THE POST WILL BE DELETED.  INAPPROPRIATE LANGUAGE WILL GET YOU BANNED. PLEASE BE CONSCIOUS THAT THESE ARE PUBLIC POSTS. PLEASE BE CONSIDERATE OF CHILDREN THAT MAY BE SIGNED ON.

SPEEDDOGS
    Start a New Topic 
    Author
    Comment
    training young dogs

I am a first year walker owner and have had several ideas about how to get these dogs started. I'm about hearing the dogs run and throwing lead at a decent buck. The pens are not for us long term. How would you start a puppy? Also include phone numbers if needed. I'm from eastern NC any input is appreciated.

Re: training young dogs

I have been running hounds for over 20 years and have started a lot of puppies. By far I'm no expert but have had good success in several ways .
    First thing is that you need to know walkers are different from other deer hounds . If you have had hounds before go with what has worked. But first thing is that you need to be able to handle the hounds . This starts as a puppie . Spend time in the pen with them calling them to you and petting them and letting them trust you . That's a huge help when it is time to catch up .